Energy Maneuverability a priority?

Military aircraft - Post cold war aircraft, including for example B-2, Gripen, F-18E/F Super Hornet, Rafale, and Typhoon.

by rowbeartoe » 13 Sep 2021, 00:40

Hi Everyone,

I hope you are all have a great day whenever you read this. I remember growing up being a fan of the F-16 and admiring not only the looks of it, but also how it represented John Boyd's energy maneuverability of the time.

One could probably argue that several 4th generation fighters post the F-16 such as the Mig-29, Jas-39 Gripen, ef-2000 among others would all do well with Energy Maneuverability.

I'm not an expert on this as my next two questions will obviously show.

I'd imagine that this "theory" isn't about slow speed fighting, otherwise wouldn't a WW I aircraft be superior to a WW II one?
Doesn't this "theory" go against the idea of slowing down for the fight simply because your aircraft handles better at slow speed?

That said, whatever the science of having extremely agile and maneuverable aircraft can bring, isn't this a low priority now with US and world future fighters?

Thank you everyone.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Energy%E2 ... ity_theory

Elite 5K
Elite 5K

by Corsair1963 » 13 Sep 2021, 06:39

While, a slow turning fight is less likely to happen in the future. You still want the ability to fight and survive in that arena.

Like modern fighters rarely use a gun in aerial combat. Yet, most would still prefer to have it in the toolbox!

Elite 5K
Elite 5K

by hornetfinn » 13 Sep 2021, 09:14

Extreme agility and maneuverability are still very useful even if extended gunfights are likely to be rare. They help in getting quickly into better missile firing position. Even with modern HOBS missiles, turning the aircraft helps increase range and hit/kill probabilities.

Another important thing is that high agility/maneuverability help avoiding enemy missiles. Read for example here:
https://apps.dtic.mil/sti/pdfs/ADA136834.pdf