Will Boeing become the next McDonnell Douglas?

New and old developments in aviation technology.
Elite 1K
Elite 1K

by disconnectedradical » 17 Feb 2021, 17:26

https://aviationweek.com/aerospace/airc ... 14355e8b04

Having worked at Boeing as an engineer, I must say I can agree with a lot of the statements here. Corporate and engineering culture really went down after the merger. I really wish we can go back to the day when Boeing was still an engineer-led organization.

A common saying is that when Boeing merged with McDonnell Douglas, the McDD bought Boeing and made Boeing pay for it since with the distribution of stocks, McDD still ended up being majority stakeholder.

Elite 5K
Elite 5K

by XanderCrews » 17 Feb 2021, 18:22

disconnectedradical wrote:https://aviationweek.com/aerospace/aircraft-propulsion/opinion-will-boeing-become-next-mcdonnell-douglas?elq2=ea67b8013334473283f1df14355e8b04

Having worked at Boeing as an engineer, I must say I can agree with a lot of the statements here. Corporate and engineering culture really went down after the merger. I really wish we can go back to the day when Boeing was still an engineer-led organization.

A common saying is that when Boeing merged with McDonnell Douglas, the McDD bought Boeing and made Boeing pay for it since with the distribution of stocks, McDD still ended up being majority stakeholder.

Thanks for the article, I have to say this is not my area of expertise. But I had heard of the "reverse hostile takeover" of MCAIR over Boeing a few times before.

as an outsider it looks like theyre just trying to redo the same thing all over. I admire their restraint in not naming the F-15EX the F-15Max or the block III SH the F/A-187. they just seem obseessed with wringing the last bit of performance out of the old designs, some of them inhereted and its just the same thing with their civil airline as well.

They should be killing it with this, who even needs engineering.
Choose Crews

Elite 5K
Elite 5K