164-1 F-14 kill ratio claim?

Cold war, Korea, Vietnam, and Desert Storm - up to and including for example the A-10, F-15, Mirage 200, MiG-29, and F-18.

by goatmilk » 24 May 2007, 18:06

Now, I always promised myself I would never get into these XX vs. XX debates because they are pointless when it involves non experts (like me), but since I kinda got myself into one, I just wanted some possible insights from experts here just so I know I'm not going crazy :D So it was an F-15 vs. F-14 thread and I noticed some fairly obvious inaccurate comments being made (which should've been my hint not to join in). As a disclaimer, I said I'm not an expert and would attempt to explain my OPINION through accessible info I've read through published books and public websites. Lo and behold, self-proclaimed expert comes in with these claims:

F-14s have a higher kill ratio than the F-15, claiming 164-1, 159 by Iranian F-14s to 1 loss, citing a Tom Cooper book for the info.

One F-14A shot down Iraqi Mirage F1 with AIM-54 at 10 miles.

Said loss, F-14 was shot down by cannon fire from MiG-21 after -14 suffered engine failure.

F-14 can fly as slow as 90mph.

AIM-120 was first tested on F-14, not F-15, and Tomcat was cleared to carry it.

I claimed the F-14 was not cleared to carry AIM-120 as I thought it carried AIM-7 up until its retirement. I mentioned F-14 shot down 4 MiGs (Gulf of Sidra incidents) and 1 helicopter with 1 F-14 lost to SAM (Gulf War). As far as I know, the F-15 has the highest kill ratio of the jet age. I'd appreciate anyone in "the know" with insight if anything to broaden my knowledge of the history of the F-14.

After he made statements like "F-14 is more maneuverable than anything in the sky, although the F-16 is more agile" and "If it was the F-14D, the Tomcat would not have been lost to the MiG", I just rolled my eyes and clicked on that X on the top right corner :roll:

Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

by ATFS_Crash » 24 May 2007, 19:00